Need
DNN Support
?
DeskPal.com
Learn DNN / DotNetNuke
Login
Subscribe to DNNCreative
Home
Subscribe
Training & Tutorials
Tutorials for Beginners
Tutorials for Administrators
Tutorials for Core Modules
Tutorials for Advanced Users
How to Build a Website in DotNetNuke
Skinning Tutorials
Module Development
Third Party Modules
Forum
Search
Search
Home
Subscribe
+
Training & Tutorials
Tutorials for Beginners
Tutorials for Administrators
Tutorials for Core Modules
Tutorials for Advanced Users
How to Build a Website in DotNetNuke
Skinning Tutorials
Module Development
Third Party Modules
Forum
You need to
Register
for free and
Login
to post a message in the forum.
Forum
Forums
Search Forum
Search
Advanced Search
Topics
Posts
Unanswered
Active Topics
Forums
>
Users Lounge
>
Everything Else
Issue with dnn:texteditor
Last Post 11/22/2011 7:18 AM by
Joseph Craig
. 7 Replies.
Sort:
Oldest First
Most Recent First
Check this box to subscribe to this topic.
Prev
Next
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author
Messages
HB
Nuke Newbie
Posts:6
11/21/2011 10:46 AM
Hi,
First, i'm sorry if the topic is in the wrong location..
I'm developing a custom module news for DNN. I can use the dnn:texteditor with no problem.
In my ascx i have on top :
<%@ Register TagPrefix="dnn" TagName="TextEditor" Src="~/controls/TextEditor.ascx" %>
Then i use it like this:
<dnn:texteditor id="teContent" width="100%" height="400" runat="server">
It all works fine, the user inserts content in the editor, i save it to a custom table in sql, no issues here.
The issue i have is in:
1 - with the use of a repeater i show to the user all the news he can edit - no problem here
2 - in the last column i create a link for every row. This link i configured to open in a fancybox one new aspx page. Inside this aspx page i have the editor :
<dnn:texteditor id="teContent" width="100%" height="400" runat="server">
- this is the issue
This is the issue, i can never load the editor with success, also tried loading any asp webcontrol and works fine.
Also tried to create the editor by code and adding it to the aspx page in runtime, with no success.
Can someone point me in the right direction plz?
best regards,
Bruno Rézio
HB
Nuke Newbie
Posts:6
11/21/2011 10:59 AM
The exception here
<!--
[NullReferenceException]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at DotNetNuke.Providers.RadEditorProvider.EditorProvider.Panel_PreRender(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Web.UI.Control.OnPreRender(EventArgs e)
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint)
[HttpUnhandledException]: Exception of type 'System.Web.HttpUnhandledException' was thrown.
at System.Web.UI.Page.HandleError(Exception e)
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint)
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequest(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint)
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequest()
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequest(HttpContext context)
at ASP.desktopmodules_noticias_editnoticiabyid_aspx.ProcessRequest(HttpContext context)
at System.Web.HttpApplication.CallHandlerExecutionStep.System.Web.HttpApplication.IExecutionStep.Execute()
at System.Web.HttpApplication.ExecuteStep(IExecutionStep step, Boolean& completedSynchronously)
-->
HB
Nuke Newbie
Posts:6
11/21/2011 10:59 AM
The exception here
<!--
[NullReferenceException]: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at DotNetNuke.Providers.RadEditorProvider.EditorProvider.Panel_PreRender(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Web.UI.Control.OnPreRender(EventArgs e)
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Control.PreRenderRecursiveInternal()
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint)
[HttpUnhandledException]: Exception of type 'System.Web.HttpUnhandledException' was thrown.
at System.Web.UI.Page.HandleError(Exception e)
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequestMain(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint)
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequest(Boolean includeStagesBeforeAsyncPoint, Boolean includeStagesAfterAsyncPoint)
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequest()
at System.Web.UI.Page.ProcessRequest(HttpContext context)
at ASP.desktopmodules_noticias_editnoticiabyid_aspx.ProcessRequest(HttpContext context)
at System.Web.HttpApplication.CallHandlerExecutionStep.System.Web.HttpApplication.IExecutionStep.Execute()
at System.Web.HttpApplication.ExecuteStep(IExecutionStep step, Boolean& completedSynchronously)
-->
HB
Nuke Newbie
Posts:6
11/21/2011 12:55 PM
does anyone have issues with fancy box & texteditor too??
HB
Nuke Newbie
Posts:6
11/21/2011 1:12 PM
oh, and i'm using a dnn v 6.1
Joseph Craig
DNN MVP
Posts:11667
11/21/2011 10:34 PM
Bruno,
The "Object reference not set to an instance of an object" message means that you have an unitialize variable somewhere.
The best way to track this down is to set up your module in a local installation of DotNetNuke and go through the debugging process. You should be able to identify the line where the error is thrown and, from there, track back into the calling program to find out what is missing.
Are you able to get at this with a debugger? What is your development environment?
Joe Craig,
Patapsco Research Group
Complete DNN Support
HB
Nuke Newbie
Posts:6
11/22/2011 6:02 AM
Hello Joseph,
Yes , i do have a development environment, created a localhost portal and i'm able to debug.
The main issue is:
I can use fancybox with sucess. I create an aspx page, insert on it any kind of asp:control (ex: textbox, repeater , etc) and bind the control.
The problem is when i try to do the same but using the dnn:textEditor. The goal is to, on a click of a button, open the editor in the fancybox.
the i get the error above and i'm kind of stuck...
any ideas?
thx
Bruno Rezio
Joseph Craig
DNN MVP
Posts:11667
11/22/2011 7:18 AM
I would think that if your run the site in debug mode that you should be able to set a breakpoint in the module and step up to the point that you get this problem.
I do understand that this happens fairly early in the page's life cycle, so you are going to have to dig a bit.
Joe Craig,
Patapsco Research Group
Complete DNN Support
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Special Bonuses
--Subscriber Bonuses
--Readers Offers
Users Lounge
--Announcements
--DNN Creative Articles
--Everything Else
--Feedback, Suggestions and More
--Membership
--Site Review Please!
--Testimonials
--Podcasts
DotNetNuke®
--DotNetNuke® Questions
--Modules
--Modules - What's needed?
--Quick Tips
Hosting
--DotNetNuke® Hosting Providers
Skinning Toolkit
--Skinning Toolkit
UK DotNetNuke User Group
Forums
>
Users Lounge
>
Everything Else
Latest Forum Posts
Can you Run Xcode in Linux?
by Aman Singh
Can you Run Xcode in Linux?
Can you Run Xcode in Linux?
by Aman Singh
Can you Run Xcode in Linux?
Billed for subscription that was canceled
by Ryan
I was just billed for a subscription that was canc eled / inactivetive how do I get a refund for th
Meta Title and Meta Description are not showing properly
by DNN User
Hi, On my site the meta title and meta descriptions are not showing properly. It's showing the m
Search is not functioning properly
by DNN User
Site: https://www.prv-engineering.co.uk/search If I search any item only the 1st option under sea
Search is not functioning properly
by DNN User
Site: https://www.prv-engineering.co.uk/search If I search any item only the 1st option under sea
DNN Platform import site optio
by Melanie Weaver
Is it possible to import site template in DNN Platform 8.0? We have internal Evoq Content 8.1 tha
Events Module for DNN V5?
by Tugboat
Would anyone have a download link for the version 5.0.3 Events Module? Thanks!
"Ghost" TabID Number?
by Tugboat
Hi! I have a portal instance with multiple child portals and on one of the child portals, there i
RE: DNN Load Testing
by ayman sharkawy
Hi. Have you already implemented a site using the DNN . And how the performance of the site and its
Publish All Pages
by NSUOK
I'm using DNN Evoq Content Basic 8.2.0. When I make the HTML Pro module display on all pages, I h
Simpler profile needed in 9.2.2
by Donald
We are upgrading a DNN 4.8.4 site to DNN 9.2.2. On 4.8.4, the top bar shows the user’s name. If yo
How to link from dnnmodal popup to web site page?
by Donald
Hello all. I am using a dnnmodal.show popup. The popup works correctly, showing the content that I
RE: Document Collaboration
by Nick Davern
That feature would be super beneficial for our needs as well! Does anyone have an update as to if th
RE: DNN 9.2, how to set default theme?
by Andy Stephenson DNN Creative
you do that under "Manage/Themes". Note the highlight blue border around the default container and d
DNN 9.2, how to set default theme?
by Donald
Please disregard, found Manage Themes I cannot find how to set a default portal theme in DNN 9.2
RE: Looking for DataSprings Dynamic Forms
by Andy Stephenson DNN Creative
Your best chance would be to contact Chad Nash @ http://www.datasprings.com/
Looking for DataSprings Dynamic Forms
by Jakir HM
Looking for DataSprings Dynamic Forms 3.4 for DNN 4.x 5.x for my site (https://themasters2018s.com/)
RE: Help with Cycle Image Carousel not displaying images
by peter
I had the same problem with the Will Strohl Content Slider after upgrading to DNN 9.1 The above an
RE: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
by Andy Stephenson DNN Creative
Check this one might be useful: http://www.dnnsoftware.com/answers/im-tryin-to-move-my-site-to-pr
Used
By
Testimonials